Fostering Systems Thinking in Your Students

InTeGrate Webinar
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 12:00

9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenters: Lisa Gilbert (Williams College) and Karl Kreutz (University of Maine)

This webinar is part of a series supporting teaching with InTeGrate principles, using InTeGrate-developed and curated materials as tools.

Summary

Systems thinking can help students analyze complex systems and it is well-suited to teaching about Earth in a societal context. Systems thinking is prevalent across the curriculum, especially with regard to sustainability issues. Lisa Gilbert, Systems Thinking module co-author, will introduce systems thinking, provide an approach to building students' systems thinking skills, and showcase a systems thinking example that can be used in any course. Karl Kreutz, Systems Thinking module co-author, will discuss systems modeling and feedback systems. In addition, he will provide an example of a feedback system using Arctic sea ice. The webinar will include 30 minutes of presentations and 25 minutes of discussion. Participants are encouraged to both ask questions of the presenters and discuss their own experiences regarding systems thinking for their discipline or context.

Goals

At the end of this webinar, participants will have:

  • examples of systems thinking assignments to incorporate into your course
  • strategies to help students develop their systems thinking skills
  • greater familiarity with InTeGrate principles and materials
  • new colleagues engaged in this work

Logistics

Time - 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET
Duration - 1 hour
Format - Online web presentation via Adobe Connect web conference software with questions and discussion. 
Go to the webinar technology page for information on using Adobe Connect. 
Detailed instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to registered participants one day prior to the webinar.