Climate Lesson Plan Workshopping with Celia Gurney, Climate Nexus

CLEAN Network Weekly Teleconference
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 - 13:00

1:00pm Eastern Time (12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific) 

Abstract: Climate Signals is a digital science platform for reporters and general audiences that makes clear established long-term trends and physical processes associated with climate change — all through the lens of emerging impacts. Climate Signals is a project of Climate Nexus, a strategic communications organization that works to steer the conversation on climate change toward a robust search for solutions. After educators expressed significant interest in the project at conferences last year, we decided to pursue curriculum development. We will share two draft lesson plans and open the floor up for comments and suggestions from CLEAN Network members.

Bio: Celia Gurney is the Climate Change Impacts Communications Fellow at Climate Nexus, working primarily on the Climate Signals team. She converted to environmentalism at age eight, when her third grade class did a unit on tropical rainforests. Between completing her BA in Environmental Studies at the University of Washington and finding her current position, Celia worked in Paris as an au pair. Both her conversion story and her experiences tutoring children inspired her to take on this environmental education project. She implores you to shower her with constructive criticism as she's new to the field.

 

Each Tuesday at 1:00pm Eastern Time (12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific) CLEAN Network members meet on a teleconference call to update each other about their climate literacy projects, upcoming events, and funding opportunities and share information about best practices, key teaching/learning resources, and the development of collaborative activities. Often these teleconferences include special presentations by members and guests. 
To participate in these teleconferences, you need to be a member of the CLEAN Network. To join the Network, sign up here Join CLEAN Network.

Members receive an email alert from the CLEAN Network listserv with information about each week's teleconference.